The Ruins in the 90's

What rides and attractions do you miss? Share your memories of Alton Towers' extensive past here.
eliz1312

Hi. i'm new to the sight so wondered if anyone can help me.
Back in the 90's when i was a young girl I went for a walk around the ruins with my family and the strangest thing happened.
i'm not sure but i either looked over the wall off the roof or out of a window and I saw a black and white tiled floor, which was roped off so visitors couldn't walk on it, and there on the floor was a raggy doll with red wool hair.
As a young girl this intregued me so i raced down to the ground level to see, only to see the black and white tiled floor with no doll on it. just a mop.
i remember my family laughing at me saying i was seeing things and then we returned to the rides.
A few years later i read an Alton Towers book (pretty sure it was gothic wonderland) and i swear blind it said something about a little ghost girl who leaves her red haired dolly lying around for people to see. I was freaked out, then thought nothing of it again until recently. Now, however, i can't find a single thing about a girl or a red haired doll anywhere, let alone a story or picture of what and where that black and white tiled floor was! I even re-bought the gothic wonderland book I thought I had read it in and there's no mention of it.
Any body heard of anything like the floor or the girl and dolly or have i totally gone bonkers?! :dizzy:
Tom

Welcome to TTSP, thanks for sharing your story!

There are indeed many myths and legends surrounding The Towers involving ghosts and unusual goings on, however I can't say that I've ever heard of that one personally.

There are a couple of bits that have a tiled floor like you describe, the one that I would imagine you are referring to would be the old kitchen. Now this part of the building isn't accessible but you can peer down into it from above.

It's shown in the yellow circle on this plan of the Towers: