Fixing my rollercoaster phobia!

General discussion regarding the UK's No.1 Theme Park. Talk about anything and everything Alton Towers here.
tyrex

EDIT - thanks to the mods for deleting my previous post, wanted to reword it but could get the edit function to work properly!

Hi everyone,

I'm a complete newbie here, only just found the forum through a quick Google search, so apologies if I'm posting in the wrong area, or not following coaster-specific etiquette! :D

I'm hoping for a bit of advice from some rollercoaster experts! For as long as I can remember I've been terrified of the damn things, and it really annoys me to be standing around holding everyone's coats and bags whilst they're in theme park having fun. I used to live near Orlando in the 80s and you can imagine how annoying it is to have visited Disney/Busch/Universal in excess of 30 times without having once been on anything more scary than a merry-go-round or the dodgems...

This is especially not good for a man now in his mid-30s who isn't supposed to be frightened of things like this! I've pretty much narrowed down my fear to that of being out of control, I'm not worried about the safety aspects etc., I'm happy to drive a car around a race track at unsafe speeds, but putting me in the passenger seat is another matter altogether. So for coasters, if you gave me a working 'instant emergency stop' button, I'd probably be happy to get on almost anything, and would likely not even feel the need to press it!